asabe  ASABE 2013 Annual Meeting Awards


The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers is an educational and scientific organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food and biological systems. Each year an annual meeting is held to expand awareness of current industry trends, promote and acknowledge innovations in design and technology, and provide opportunities for professional development. This year's conference was held in Kansas City, Missouri from July 21 - 24, 2013.

 Dr. Deepak Keshwani was awarded the 2013 ASABE Presidential Citation. The President's citations recognize those who have contributed exceptional service to the profession and the Society. Dr. Keshwani received this award for his role as a member of the Path Forward Committee. This committee was appointed by ASABE to refine and finalize a new organizational structure for the Society and to develop a process to implement the new structure.

Adjunct faculty member, Dr. Tami Brown-Brandl was also awarded the 2013 ASABE Presidential Citation for her exceptional service to the profession and the Society.

Dr. Richard Stowell and Dr. Dennis Schulte were Blue Ribbon winners for their website entry with faculty members from other schools. Their website, Air Quality in Animal Agriculture eXtension, was one out of seven winners from thirty-three entries across the nation.

Dr. Suat Irmak and other faculty from UNL were also Blue Ribbon winners for their short publication entry. Their publication, Evaluation of Water Productivity and Irrigation Efficiency in Nebraska Corn Production, was one of two Blue Ribbon winners out of eleven entries. Dr. Irmak had another entry, Variability of Reference Evapotranspiration Across Nebraska, in the same category of short publications.

2013 was the first year UNL had a team for the Fountain Wars Competition. Fountain Wars consists of two technical tasks that must be accomplished using energy from a water pump and construct the entry on-site. Awards are based off of scores from a written report, oral presentation, construction, technical tasks and the aesthetic display. The team placed fifth in the first technical task and fourth in the second technical task. Overall, the team received fifth place. Team members included: Bethany Brittenham, Julia Burchell, Hillary Stoll, Julia Alves, Noel Menard and Captains Lauren Wondra, Adam Emanuel and Sarah Gardels. Read about this year's rules and regulations. Find out more about UNL's Fountain Wars team.

Junior Aaron Matzke was awarded third place in the K. K. Barnes Student Paper Awards Competition. This competition is to encourage undergraduate students in the preparation of better technical papers. The competition consists of a written competition and an oral competition. Only the top three papers were invited to attend the Annual Meeting. Aaron wrote his paper on computer modeling of microwave heating in a multi-component food product.