Department Personnel

All offices are in L.W. Chase Hall unless otherwise noted. Abbreviations used in the following directory:

Select publications and papers by faculty are available at the UNL Digital Commons.

Faculty


 

Riley

Mark Riley
Department Head
223 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-1413

Bashford

Greg Bashford
Biomedical Engineering
230 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-1745

Billesbach

Dave Billesbach
Ecosystem Carbon and Water Cycle Balance
157 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-7961

Dvorak

Bruce Dvorak
Environmental Engineering
229 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-3431

Eisenhauer

Dean Eisenhauer
Hydrologic and Irrigation Engineering
238 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-1637

Franti

Tom Franti
Surface Water Quality Engineering
242 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-9872

Yufeng Ge Photo

Yufeng Ge
Advanced Sensing Systems Engineering
209 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-3435

Hay

F. John Hay
Extension Educator - Energy and Biofuels
250 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-0408

Heeren

Derek Heeren
Irrigation Engineer, Assistant Professor
241 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-8577

Hoy

Roger Hoy
Tractor Performance
245 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-2442

Nebraska Tractor Test Laboratory

Irmak

Suat Irmak
Soil and Water Resources and Irrigation Engineering
Microclimate-Surface Interactions; Evapotranspiration; Crop Water Productivity
239 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-4865

Jones

David D. Jones
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs - UNL College of Engineering
114 Othmer Hall
(402) 472-3181

djones1@unl.edu

 

Keshwani

Deepak Keshwani
Bioenergy Systems and Bioprocess Modeling
204 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-6714

Kocher

Mike Kocher
Sensors and Controls
205 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-3949

Kranz

William Kranz
Irrigation specialist
57905 866 Rd HAL
Concord, NE 68728-2828
(402) 584-3857
wkranz1@unl.edu

Northeast Research and Extension Center

Liska

Adam Liska
Bioenergy

203 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-8744

aliska2@unl.edu

Luck

Joe D. Luck
Precision Agriculture Engineering
206 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-1488

UNL Precision Ag

Mabie

David Mabie
Lecturer
217 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-3066

 

Martin

Derrel Martin
Irrigation and Water
243 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-1586

dmartin2@unl.edu

 

Melander

Jennifer Melander
Extension Assistant Professor and Biomedical Engineer
248 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-9614

Meyer

George Meyer
Sensors and Machine Vision
244 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-3377

gmeyer1@unl.edu

 

Munoz Arriola
Francisco Muñoz Arriola
Hydroinformatics and Integrated Hydrology
246 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-0850
fmunoz@unl.edu

 

Odhiambo

Lameck Odhiambo
Water Resources Engineering and Modeling
237 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-0023

Othman

Shadi Othman
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Tissue Engineering
233 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-4574

Pannier

Angela Pannier
Biomedical Engineer and Associate Professor
William E. Brooks Engineering Leadership Fellow
231 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-0896

Photo of Santosh Pitla

Santosh Pitla
Advanced Machinery Systems
207 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-xxxx

Schinstock

Jack Schinstock
Mechanized Systems Management
201 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-1629

Schmidt

Amy Schmidt
Animal Manure Management
213 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-0877

Schulte

Dennis Schulte
Environmental Engineering
216 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-3930

Shelton

David Shelton
Soil Conservation, with emphasis on crop residue cover
57905 866 Rd HAL
Concord, NE 68728-2828
(402) 584-3849

dshelton2@unl.edu
Northeast Research and Extension Center

 

Stowell

Rick Stowell
Animal Environment
218 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-3912

rstowell2@unl.edu

 

Photo of Jeyam Subbiah

Jeyamkondan (Jeyam) Subbiah
Bioenergy and Food Engineering
212 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-4944

Van Donk

Simon van Donk
Irrigation and Water Resources
461 University Drive
North Platte, NE 69101
(308) 696-6709

svandonk2@unl.edu
West Central Research and Extension Center

 

Weller

Curt Weller
Bioenergy and Food Engineering
210 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-9337

cweller1@unl.edu

 

Woldstad

Jeff Woldstad
Whole Body Biomechanics; Occupational Safety and Health
222 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-0426

Woldt

Wayne Woldt
Environmental Engineering
232 L.W. Chase Hall
(402) 472-8656

Xu

Huihui Xu
Biomedical Imaging and Instrumentation
223 L.W. Chase Hall 
(402) 472-0884

Yang

Yiqi Yang
Biotextile Engineering
221 HECO Building
(402) 472-5197
Ron Yoder
Associate Vice Chancellor
202 AGH
(402) 472-2871
ryoder2@unl.edu

 

TOP

Adjunct Faculty


 

Viacheslav Adamchuk
Precision Agriculture

McGill University,
Montreal, Canada

Alejandro Amézquita
Food Safety Engineering

England

Alejandro.Amezquita@unilever.com

Tami Brown-Brandl
Livestock Environment

U.S. Meat Animal Research Center, Nebraska

tami.brownbrandl@ars.usda.gov

Judith Burnfield
Biomechanics, biokinesiology, and gait analysis

Madonna Rehabilitation Hospital, Lincoln, NE 

jburnfield@madonna.org

Roger Eigenberg
Livestock environment

U.S. Meat Animal Research Center, Nebraska 

roger.eigenberg@ars.usda.gov

Qi Fang
Bioprocess engineering

Banner Pharmacaps Inc.

QFang@banpharm.com

Sandun Fernando
Bio
energy, biomaterials, biolubricants

Texas A&M

Girish Ganjyal
Food and bioprocess engineering

Pepsico, Plano, TX 

girish.ganjyal@pepsico.com

Aristippos Gennadios
Food and bioprocess engineering

Cardinal Health, Inc.

arispao@aol.com

Viswasrao Ghorpade
Cereal and food processing

Kellogg Company 

Viswas.Ghorpade@kellogg.com

John Gilley
Livestock waste management

251 LW Chase Hall, Lincoln, NE, (402) 472-2975

john.gilley@ars.usda.gov

Junjie Guan
Food and bioprocess engineering

Global Project Manager
Nestlé Performance Nutrition

Junjie.Guan@rd.nestle.com

G. LeRoy Hahn
Livestock environment

U.S. Meat Animal Research Center, Nebraska 

hahn@email.marc.usda.gov

Terry Howell
Irrigation engineering

USDA-ARS, Bushland, Texas 

tahowell@cprl.ars.usda.gov

Keum Taek Hwang
Food processing

Seoul National University, South Korea 

keum@snu.ac.kr

Ajay Kumar 
Biomass thermochemical gasification

Oklahoma State University

ajay.kumar@okstate.edu

Daniel Miller
Microbial communities in manure

123 Keim Hall, Lincoln, NE
(402) 472-0741

dan.miller@ars.usda.gov

John Nienaber
Livestock environment

U.S. Meat Animal Research Center, Nebraska 

john.nienaber@ars.usda.gov

Jason Vogel
Extension Stormwater
Specialist

Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering, Oklahoma State University

jason.vogel@okstate.edu

Lijun Wang
Bioprocess engineering

North Carolina A & T State University, Greensboro, NC

lwang@ncat.edu

Bryan Woodbury
Livestock waste management

U.S. Meat Animal Research Center, Nebraska 

bryan.woodbury@ars.usda.gov

Yixiang Xu
Novel food processing and packaging

Virginia State University

yixu@vsu.edu

TOP

Courtesy Faculty


 

Dr. Mark Beatty
Biomaterials

UNMC Dental College

mbeatty@unmc.edu

Xun-Hong Chen
Hydrogeology

School of Natural Resource Sciences

xchen2@unl.edu

Susan Cuppett
Lipid chemistry, sensory specialist

Food Science and Technology

scuppett1@unl.edu

Mohamed Dahab
Water resources

Civil Engineering

mdahab1@unl.edu

Rolando Flores
Grain processing engineer

Food Science and Technology

rflores2@unl.edu

Susan Hallbeck
Ergonomics with emphasis on surgical tools

Industrial & Management Systems Engineering

shallbeck1@unl.edu

Kenneth Hubbard
Bio-atmospheric interactions

School of Natural Resource Sciences

khubbard1@unl.edu

Ayse Irmak
Application of remote sensing/satellite technology and GIS in soil and water resources engineering

Center for Advanced Land Management Information Technologies (CALMIT)

School of Natural Resource Sciences

airmak2@unl.edu

Sharon Skipton
Water quality

Southeast Research and Extension Center

sskipton1@unl.edu

Joseph Skopp
Soil physics

School of Natural Resource Sciences

jskopp1@unl.edu

Anuradha Subramanian
Tissue engineering

Chemical Engineering

asubramanian2@unl.edu

Shashi Verma
Micrometeorology

School of Natural Resource Sciences

sverma1@unl.edu

TOP

Former Faculty in Administration


 

Ron Yoder

Associate Vice Chancellor, IANR

ryoder2@unl.edu

Richard Koelsch

Assistant Dean, Extension

rkoelsch1@unl.edu

David Jones

Associate Dean, College of Engineering

djones1@unl.edu

Visiting Scholars


 

Post-Doctoral


 

Adriano Diotto
Post-doctoral Research Associate

228 

 402-472-9391

 adiotto2@unl.edu

TOP

Staff


 

Alan Boldt
Research Engineer, soil and water

138

402-472-9032

aboldt1@unl.edu

Garret Coffman
Computer Specialist

102

402-472-4629

gcoffman2@unl.edu

Eileen Curtis
Department Secretary

223

402-472-3905

ecurtis1@unl.edu

Evan Curtis
Student Services
 Coordinator

247

402-472-9387

ecurtis2@unl.edu

Bonita Delhay
Project Assistant

253

402-472-9390

bdelhay2@unl.edu

Justin Geyer
Research Engineer II

TTL

402-472-2442

jgeyer2@unl.edu

Jason Gross
Vegetative Strip technology

UNK

308-865-1594

jgross3@unl.edu

Stuart Hoff
Rogers Memorial Farm Manager

229

402-472-6332

shoff1@unl.edu

Loren Isom
Technical Assistance Coordinator, IAPC

209 

402-472-8187 

lisom2@unl.edu

Paul Jasa
Extension Research Engineer

202

402-472-6715

pjasa1@unl.edu

David Mabie
Lecturer

217

402-472-3066

david.mabie@unl.edu

Lauren Madsen
Business Center Manager

FYH

402-472-2301

lmadsen2@unl.edu

Scott Minchow
Instrument Maker

BSE Lab

402-472-3916

sminchow1@unl.edu

Amber Patterson
Office Associate

212

402-472-1646

apatterson6@unl.edu

Sarah Plautz
Reserach Technician III

32

402-472-0848

splautz3@unl.edu

Crystal Powers 
Extension Engineer

155

402-472-6340

cpowers2@unl.edu

Rodney Rohrer
Research Engineer II

TTL

402-472-2442

rrohrer2@unl.edu

Teresa Ryans 
Secretary, Water Resources

241

402-472-9391

tryans2@unl.edu

Brent Sampson
Tractor Test Engineer

TTL

402-472-2442

bsampson1@unl.edu

Sheila Smith
Illustrator

103

402-472-3179

ssmith1@unl.edu

Tyler Smith
Research Technologist II

107

402-472-1637

tyler.smith@unl.edu

Andrea Spader
Advising Recruiting Coordinator

253

402-472-9342

aspader3@unl.edu

Julie Thomson
Office Associate

TTL

402-472-2442

jthomson2@unl.edu

Lance Todd
Manager, Larsen Tractor Museum

LTM

402-472-8389

ltodd6@unl.edu

Doug Triplett
Research Manager Lab I

TTL

402-472-2442

dtriplett2@unl.edu

Michael Van Liew
Watershed modeling specialist

229

402-472-0839

mvanliew2@unl.edu

Diann Young
Department Receptionist

223

402-472-1413

dyoung5@unl.edu

TOP

Emiriti Faculty


 

Leonard Bashford

Tractor and machine performance

Don Edwards

Retired January 2001

Milford Hanna

Retired June 2011

DeLynn Hay

Retired December 2007

Glenn Hoffman

Salinity and irrigation consulting; retired Department Head

Robert W. Kleis

International programs, consulting

Louis Leviticus

Retired January 1998; Curator, L. L. Tractor Test Museum

Thomas Silletto

Retired July 1998

John Smith

Retired June 2011

LaVerne Stetson

Rural electrical management

Ken Von Bargen

Retired February 1996

Darrell Watts

Irrigation management & water quality

Elbert Dickey

Retireed June 2012, Dean, Extension

TOP

 In Memorial


 We remember faculty and staff who have recently passed:

C. Dean Yonts- 2012 (Irrgation Water Resources)       

William Splinter- 2012 (Retired Department Head)